clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl Update

Just some recent updates on the balloting for this year's Pro Bowl.

Four Bears are on track to start this season's Pro Bowl, the most since the 2001 playoff team sent five.

Based on fan balloting at, center Olin Kreutz and linebacker Brian Urlacher are virtual locks for their fifth trips and Brendon Ayanbadejo has a sizable lead over James Thrash for NFC special-teams player. Cornerback Nathan Vasher has moved ahead of Tampa Bay's Ronde Barber to join Atlanta's DeAngelo Hall as the NFC starting cornerbacks. Hall and Vasher will share the stage for Sunday's nationally televised Bears-Falcons game.

Adewale Ogunleye is sixth among defensive ends despite being tied for third in the NFC with nine sacks. Mike Brown is second behind Dallas' Roy Williams at safety, but his calf injury could hurt his shot at a first Pro Bowl start.