clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bears could send 6 to Hawaii

There is just too much spread around in this one, so I am just going to post the whole story.  

From The Chicago Sun-Times:

To the victor go the spoils -- or in this case, to the team with a lot of victories go the leis.

The Bears (10-4) are expected to send as many as six players to the Pro Bowl, and perhaps more, when the teams are announced Wednesday.

Fan balloting, which counts for one-third of the selection process, was revealed Monday, and three Bears were tops at their positions in the NFC. Middle linebacker Brian Urlacher collected more votes than any other defensive player, center Olin Kreutz got more than twice as many votes as his nearest competition and special-teams standout Brendon Ayanbadejo came from behind to top Washington's James Thrash by more than 10,000 votes.

Urlacher and Kreutz are seeking their fifth Pro Bowl invitations. Players and coaches voted last week; their totals also count for one-third each.

"The fan votes are really great, but to get the players and coaches, then you know you have the respect of the league,'' said Ayanbadejo, who was the runner-up for the AFC's special-teams position last season with the Miami Dolphins. "There are a lot more important things. It's a personal goal, and if I make it, it would be the icing on the cake.''

Cornerback Nathan Vasher, who leads the Bears with eight interceptions, also is expected to get the nod. He finished second in fan voting behind Atlanta's DeAngelo Hall. Strong safety Mike Brown finished second to Dallas' Roy Williams. Three cornerbacks and three safeties make the roster.

Left tackle John Tait was fourth in voting but has a chance because Philadelphia's Jon Runyan, a fan favorite, is not expected to do well in voting by players and coaches. Weak-side linebacker Lance Briggs made a late push in voting to finish fourth and has a chance with three outside linebackers being selected. Left guard Ruben Brown was fourth and running back Thomas Jones fifth, edged out by Washington's Clinton Portis by 44 votes.

The last time the Bears sent six players to Honolulu was 1991. Coach Lovie Smith cut himself off after naming 10 deserving players Monday. Defensive end Adewale Ogunleye is deserving, but the position is stacked.

"I don't know exactly what everyone is looking at," Smith said. "I just know what type of players we have here."