clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Forte named to USA Football's 2014 All Fundamental Team

For the fifth consecutive year, the Chicago Bears have placed a player on USA Football's All Fundamental Team.

Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

USA Football, which is the national governing body for football, has been selecting an All Fundamental Team since 2009. They do so to bring awareness of playing football the proper and safe way, by using sound technique.


The sixth annual USA Football All-Fundamentals Team recognizes NFL players who employ proper technique, particularly when blocking and tackling, which fosters inherent safety benefits and better on-field performance.

Chicago Bears running back Matt Forte was named to the 2014 All Fundamental team with guidance from a five-person selection committee.

  • Charles Davis, Football analyst for NFL Network and FOX Sports
  • Herm Edwards, ESPN NFL analyst and former NFL head coach
  • Merril Hoge, ESPN NFL analyst and former NFL running back
  • Carl Peterson, USA Football chairman, former NFL team executive and assistant coach
  • Bill Polian, ESPN NFL analyst and former NFL general manager

Here's what USA Football had to say about Matt Forte.

Forte shows the patience that running backs need to let the play develop in front of them before accelerating into the hole. He is smooth in and out of cuts, able to change direction without losing speed. In the passing game, his precise route running and proper hand positioning on catches give him the ability to be a productive receiver out of the backfield.

Forte is actually the 6th Bear to be honored for his fundamentals. He joins left tackle Jermon Bushrod (2013), cornerback Charles Tillman (2012), returner Devin Hester and defensive end Julius Peppers (2011), and long snapper Patrick Mannelly (2010).

To see the full 2014 team you can click here.

Each member of the All Fundameltal Team will receive a $1000 equipment grant to donate to an origination of their choice. The three Team Captains will receive an additional $1000. To vote Matt Forte as a team captain you can click here.