clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Honors Award Show and Hall of Fame Class of 2014 Open Thread

Join us below for live discussion on tonight's big event!

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Around 7pm ET this evening (although things will likely leak earlier), the NFL will announce its 2014 Hall of Fame inductees, then feature them on their NFL Honors award show at 8pm ET.

The Class of 2014 HOF Finalists (and number of times they've been a finalist):

Morten Andersen, Jerome Bettis (4), Derrick Brooks, Tim Brown (5), Edward DeBartolo, Jr. (3), Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene (3), **Ray Guy (8), Charles Haley (5), Marvin Harrison, **Claude Humphrey (5), Walter Jones, John Lynch, Andre Reed (8), Will Shields (3), Michael Strahan (2), Aeneas Williams (3)

Update: Class of 2014 HOF entrants are Strahan, Reed, Jones, Brooks, Williams, Humphrey and Guy.

A maximum of five players will be enshrined from the list of fifteen modern players. For one of the senior committees nominees to be enshrined, this year Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey, the player must get 80% of the vote. For more details on the selection/ voting process, click HERE.

At 8pm ET, the 3rd annual NFL Honors Show will air on FOX. It is being hosted by Alec Baldwin at Radio City Music Hall.

The HOF'ers will be featured, and the full list of awards to be given out are:

AP Most Valuable Player presented by Papa John's - (Winner: Peyton Manning, QB, Denver Broncos)

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year -- Charles Tillman among three finalists - (Winner: Charles Tillman, CB, Chicago Bears)

AP Coach of the Year presented by Lenovo - (Winner: Ron Rivera, Carolina Panthers)

AP Comeback Player of the Year presented by Castrol EDGE - (Winner: Philip Rivers, QB, San Diego Chargers)

AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by XBOX One - (Winner: Peyton Manning, QB, Denver Broncos)

AP Defensive Player of the Year presented by Surface - (Winner: Luke Kuechly, LB, Carolina Panthers)

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year presented by Pepsi Next - (Winner: Eddie Lacy, RB, Green Bay Packers)

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year presented by Pepsi NEXT - (Winner: Sheldon Richardson, DE, New York Jets)

Pepsi NEXT Rookie of the Year - (Winner: Keenan Allen, WR, San Diego Chargers)

FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year -- Matt Forte among nominees for Ground Player - (Winner: LeSean McCoy, RB, Philadelphia Eagles)

GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year - (Winner: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers)

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year - (Winner: Calvin Johnson, WR, Detroit Lions) Fantasy Player of the Year presented by SAP - (Winner: Jamaal Charles, RB, Kansas City Chiefs)

"Greatness on the Road" Award presented by Courtyard - (Winner: Nick Foles, QB, Philadelphia Eagles)

Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award - (Winner: Mike Grant, Eden Prairie (Minn.) H.S.)

Salute To Service Award Presented by USAA - (Winner: John Harbaugh, head coach, Baltimore Ravens)

Deacon Jones Award - (Winner: Robert Mathis, DE, Indianapolis Colts)