clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Slauson will receive the Ed Block Courage Award

Today Matt Slauson received the Ed Block Courage Award for the Chicago Bears.

Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

Every team in the NFL awards one of their players with the Ed Block Courage Award. Ed Block was the long time head trainer for the Baltimore Colts. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation is dedicated to improving the lives of abused, neglected and at-risk children and ending the cycle of abuse.

The winners of the award are selected by their teammates and the Chicago Bears 2014 winner is offensive guard Matt Slauson.


The Ed Block Courage award is presented to one player on all 32 NFL teams who best exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage and serves as an inspiration in the locker room. The award recipients, who are voted for by their teammates, symbolize professionalism, great strength and dedication, and they are considered community role models.

Slauson, 29, was brought in on a one year prove it type deal in 2013 and he went on to start all 16 games, earning himself a 4 year contract.

He struggled through some injuries last season, but his rehab from a torn pectoral muscle is on schedule, and he hopes to be cleared to participate in Chicago's off season program which begins on Monday, April 13th.

From the Chicago Tribune;

"Things are very close," Slauson said. "I'm excited. I haven't punched anybody since October. So I'm ready. I'm hoping I'll be rip-roaring to go come April 13."

Slauson is an aggressive run blocker and he should feel right at home in the Bears' new offense.