clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chicago Bears 2015 Team Captains: Players decide who their official captains will be

The Chicago Bears have names their 2015 Team Captains-- come see who the players voted to be their official captains for this season.

Brian Kersey/Getty Images

Many NFL head coaches name their own team captains-- sometimes they lock in the same players for the entire season, and sometimes they change the captains weekly.

Some coaches have one from offense and one from defense, and other coaches mix things up a bit more.

New Chicago Bears head coach, and veteran in the NFL, John Fox has his own system: Let the players sort it out for themselves.  Fox allows his team to select two players from the offense, two from the defense, and one from special teams to represent the team each season, with a 6th player chosen by Fox himself each week.

For the 2015 season, the Chicago Bears players have selected the following as their official team captains:

- QB Jay Cutler

- RB Matt Forte

- LB Pernell McPhee

- S Antrel Rolle

- K Robbie Gould

When you look at that group of guys, there's a lot of football that has been played between them  Cutler has 9 years of service in the NFL, Forte has 7, McPhee has 4, Rolle has 10 years under his belt, and Gould has 10.

While McPhee can be considered the youngster of the bunch, his experience in Baltimore automatically lends him credibility in the locker room, and has come to Chicago with an intensity that Ryan Pace calls 'violent'.  For the rest of the guys, their tenure in the NFL is well-established.

We will see who John Fox names each week to join this group, but these will be your 'permanent' Team Captains for 2015.

What are your thoughts?