clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

1 Former Bear player and 1 former Bear coach included in the 2016 Hall of Fame finalists

Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

The Finalists have been announced for the 2016 Hall Of Fame and there are two former Chicago Bears, one ex player and one ex coach, on the list.

There are 15 Modern Era Finalists

Morten Andersen, Kicker - 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings - 7 Pro Bowls and a 3 time 1st Team All Pro in his 25 year career, most points scored in the history on the NFL

Steve Atwater, Safety - 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets - 2 time 1st Team All Pro and 8 Pro Bowls, he was one of the most feared DBs of his era

Don Coryell, Coach - 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers - 195 wins and a .572 winning percentage in the regular season, one of the brightest offensive minds of all time

Terrell Davis, Running Back - 1995-2001 Denver Broncos - 3 time Pro Bowler and 3 time First Team All Pro in his 7 year injury shortened career

Tony Dungy, Coach - 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts - 139 wins and a .668 winning percentage, head coach of the 2006 Super Bowl Champs

Alan Faneca, Guard - 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals - 9 Pro Bowls and a 6 time 1st Team All Pro, this is his first year of eligibility

Brett Favre, Quarterback - 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota Vikings - A thorn in the side of the Chicago Bears for far too long, but the last play of his career was getting sacked by Chicago's Corey Wootton in a 40-14 Bears win against his Vikings

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End - 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers - Twice 1st Team All Pro and a 5 time Pro Bowler, he's 3rd all time with 160 sacks

Marvin Harrison, Wide Receiver - 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts - 8 Pro Bowls and a 3 time 1st Team All Pro, he's 3rd all time in receptions (1,102), 5th all time in receiving TDs (128) and 7th all time in receiving yards (14,580)

Joe Jacoby, Tackle - 1981-1993 Washington Redskins - 2 1st Team All Pro selections, 4 time Pro Bowler, 3 Super Bowl rings

Edgerrin James, Running Back - 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks - 4 Pro Bowls, 1 First Team All Pro, 7th all time in rushing attempts (3,028), 11th all time in rushing yards (12,246) and 13th all time in yards from scrimmage (15,610)

John Lynch, Free Safety - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos - 9 Pro Bowls and a 2 time 1st Team all Pro

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver - 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals - 6 time Pro Bowler and a 5 time First Team All Pro, 2nd all time in receiving yards (15,934) and 3rd in receiving TDs (153)

Orlando Pace, Tackle - 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears - 7 Pro Bowls and 3 1st Time All Pro teams, he ended his career with 11 starts for the Bears

Kurt Warner, Quarterback - 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals - 4 time Pro Bowler and 2 time First Team All-Pro, 3 time Super Bowl QB with 1 ring

There are two Senior Finalists in the running this year as well

Ken Stabler, Quarterback - 1970-1979 Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984 New Orleans Saints - The Snake made one All Pro 1st team and he was a 4 time Pro Bowler, Super Bowl winning QB in 1976

Dick Stanfel, Guard - 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins - 5 time Pro Bowler and a 5 time 1st Team All Pro, he was the offensive line coach for the Bears from 1981 to 1992.

There is one Contributor Finalist named for 2016

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner - 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers - Under his ownership the 49ers won 5 Super Bowls

No more than five Hall Of Famers can be elected in each class from the Modern Era finalists, with a total of between 4 and 8 (including the Senior and Contributor Finalists) being the accepted norm.

To make the cut a finalist must receive a minimum of 80% vote during annual selection meeting. This year's Annual Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee Meeting will be held on Saturday, February 6, 2016, in San Francisco.