clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chicago Bears nominate Jerrell Freeman for the Salute to Service Award

NFL: Philadelphia Eagles at Chicago Bears Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL announced that linebacker Jerrell Freeman was nominated by the Chicago Bears for the “Salute to Service Award presented by USAA.”

Each of the 32 teams in the NFL nominates one player/employee from their franchise with the finalists for the award being announced in January. The winner will be selected at the “6th Annual NFL Honors” awards show, which emanates from Houston, Texas and airs on FOX on Saturday, Feb. 4, which is the night before the Super Bowl.

The award was created “to acknowledge the exceptional efforts by members of the NFL community to honor and support U.S. service members, veterans and their families.”

For the full list of nominees and the reason why each individual was nominated, you can click here.

And here’s why the Bears elected to nominate Freeman.

As a new member of the Bears team this season, Jerrell promptly got involved in showing his appreciation for the military by supporting the Boeing Military Salute at home games. At each Bears home game, a deserving member of the military is honored during an on-field recognition during the third quarter. The Military Salute provides the opportunity for the Bears, Boeing and our great fans to give thanks and show support to those who protect our country and to also honor the history and heritage of Soldier Field. Tickets for the military representatives and their guests are generously provided by Jerrell. Jerrell donates another eight tickets each home game to veterans through the Road Home Program in Chicago. The Road Home Program at the Center for Veterans and Their Families at Rush provides timely and confidential support, counseling and veteran health services to help them and their family understand, heal from and cope with the invisible wounds of war. Jerrell has donated over 350 tickets to both sworn and civilian workforce.

If Freeman wins, he’ll become the second Bears’ player to win the award, following Charles Tillman’s win in 2012.