clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jay Cutler once again voted captain by his Chicago Bears’ teammates

NFL: Detroit Lions at Chicago Bears Matt Marton-USA TODAY Sports

The Chicago Bears have announced their captains for the 2016 season, as voted on by the players.

Jay Cutler, Quarterback

Alshon Jeffery, Wide Receiver

Danny Trevathan, Inside Linebacker

Pernell McPhee, Outside Linebacker

Sherrick McManis, Special Teams

Every week head coach John Fox will announce a 6th captain to represent the team on game-day.

Cutler has been voted team captain every season of his Bears’ career when they’ve held player votes. If you recall during the Marc Trestman years, he had no seasonal captains, instead he would name them on a week by week basis.

This is Jeffery’s first time being voted as a team captain, so I guess his teammates were ok with him skipping all the voluntary offseason stuff.

Trevathan, like McPhee last year, was voted captain in his first year in Chicago and McPhee is a two time captain.

McManis is also a first time captain, but he has been a standout 3rd phase contributor during his Bears’ tenure.