clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chicago Bears have 3 selected to the PFWA All Rookie Team

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Chicago Bears v Indianapolis Colts Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The Chicago Bears have three players named to the Professional Football Writers of America All Rookie Team, running back Jordan Howard, center Cody Whitehair and outside linebacker Leonard Floyd.

Howard was 2nd among all rookies with 1,313 yards rushing and 252 carries. His 5.2 yards per carry was better than the 5.1 from the PFWA Rookie of the Year, Ezekiel Elliott. Howard’s 7 total touchdowns placed him 6th among rookies, his 29 receptions was 14th highest and he was 12th with 298 receiving yards among 1st year players. He played in 15 games, making 13 starts.

Whitehair started all 16 games at center for the Bears, after playing left tackle his final year of college and practicing at guard for the majority of Chicago’s offseason. He was recently named one of Top 25 players under 25 years old by Pro Football Focus.

Floyd started all 12 games in which he appeared, racking up 7 sacks, good for 3rd most among rookies. He was credited with 33 tackles, 6 tackles for loss, 9 quarterback hits, 2 passes defended, 1 forced fumble, 1 fumble recovery and 1 touchdown.

The Bears were tied with the Chargers with the 2nd most selections, the Chiefs had four picks on the All Rookie team to lead the way.

Here are all of the PFWA All Rookie selections

2016 PFWA ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys

2016 PFWA OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys

2016 PFWA DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DE Joey Bosa, San Diego Chargers



QB – Dak Prescott, Dallas Cowboys

RB – Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys; Jordan Howard, Chicago Bears

WR – Sterling Shepard, New York Giants; Michael Thomas, New Orleans Saints

TE – Hunter Henry, San Diego Chargers

C – Cody Whitehair, Chicago Bears

G – Joe Thuney, New England Patriots; Laremy Tunsil, Miami Dolphins

T – Jack Conklin, Tennessee Titans; Taylor Decker, Detroit Lions


DL – Joey Bosa, San Diego Chargers; DeForest Buckner, San Francisco 49ers; Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs; Yannick Ngakoue, Jacksonville Jaguars

LB – Jatavis Brown, San Diego Chargers; Leonard Floyd, Chicago Bears; Deion Jones, Atlanta Falcons

CB – Vernon Hargreaves III, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Jalen Ramsey, Jacksonville Jaguars

S – Karl Joseph, Oakland Raiders; Keanu Neal, Atlanta Falcons


PK – Wil Lutz, New Orleans Saints

P – Riley Dixon, Denver Broncos

KR – Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs

PR – Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs

ST – Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs