clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chicago Bears waive Ego Ferguson

Oakland Raiders v Chicago Bears Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Earlier today the Chicago Bears announced that they have waived defensive lineman Ego Ferguson, who was originally a 2nd round pick of the Bears in the 2014 NFL Draft.

With Ferguson gone, that leaves Will Sutton, Kyle Fuller, Ka'Deem Carey, Pat O'Donnell and Charles Leno from Phil Emery’s final draft class.

In three years with the Bears, Ego has appeared in 20 games with one start. He missed all of last season with an injury and in 2015 an injury caused him to miss 12 games. The former LSU Tiger picked up 36 tackles, two sacks and three pass breakups in his time in Chicago.

The recent addition of nose tackle John Jenkins may have sealed Ferguson’s fate with the Bears. In addition to Jenkins, Chicago now has defensive linemen Sutton, Jonathan Bullard, Eddie Goldman, Akiem Hicks, Kapron Lewis-Moore, Mitch Unrein and C.J. Wilson on the roster.

Also likely playing d-line for the Bears is Roy Robertson-Harris, who was listed as an outside linebacker last year. But with his recent number change to #74, he can no longer play OLB.