clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Windy City Gridiron picks the 2018 NFL Awards

In a night of coronation, some young NFL players will surely get their due. WCG makes it's predictions for MVP, Defensive Player of the Year, and more.

Divisional Round - New Orleans Saints v Minnesota Vikings Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

Can we acknowledge how hilarious it is that the NFL has set aside a whole separate night in which people are supposed to heap praise upon players? This awards show has been going on for some time, but the effect and what it draws is comical at best. Finally, a night for professional athletes.

At any rate, in a setting that will promise minimal drama and debate at best, we must still decide who will take home the individual hardware of the league. Can anyone take Most Valuable Player away from Tom Brady? Is there a case to be made for Offensive Rookie Of The Year other than the Saints' Alvin Kamara?

As history has shown (drum roll): probably not.

Here's hoping for a surprise!

WCG makes it's picks for the NFL Awards.

Most Valuable Player: Tom Brady, Patriots

AFC Championship - Jacksonville Jaguars v New England Patriots Photo by Adam Glanzman/Getty Images

Robert Zeglinski: It's going to be Brady, sadly. Thinking of you Carson Wentz!

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Brady

Sam Householder: Brady

Jack Silverstein: Brady

Jeff Berckes: Brady

Jacob Infante: Brady

Ken Mitchell: Brady

Andrew Link: Wentz (Eagles)

Patti Curl: Mitchell Trubisky, Bears

Offensive Player of the Year: Todd Gurley, Rams

Los Angeles Rams v Tennessee Titans

Robert Zeglinski: 2000 yards from scrimmage. Six yards a touch. The NFL's leader in touchdowns scored with 19. No one else deserves this except Gurley.

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Gurley. Had the Steelers' Antonio Brown played a full 16 games, he would have given Gurley a run for his money.

Sam Householder: Gurley

Jack Silverstein: Brady

Jeff Berckes: Gurley

Jacob Infante: Gurley

Ken Mitchell: Gurley

Andrew Link: Kareem Hunt, Chiefs

Patti Curl: Jordan Howard, Bears

Defensive Player Of The Year: Calais Campbell, Jaguars

Wild Card Round - Buffalo Bills v Jacksonville Jaguars Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

Robert Zeglinski: If we're going off who had the best defensive individual season, then it's the Cardinals' Chandler Jones and it isn't close. But the Jaguars' team success helps Campbell a bunch.

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Campbell

Sam Householder: Aaron Donald, Rams

Jack Silverstein: Campbell

Jeff Berckes: Donald

Jacob Infante: Campbell

Ken Mitchell: Khalil Mack, Raiders

Andrew Link: Jalen Ramsey, Jaguars

Patti Curl: Akiem Hicks, Bears

Offensive Rookie Of The Year: Alvin Kamara, Saints

Wild Card Round - Carolina Panthers v New Orleans Saints Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images

Robert Zeglinski: In all honesty, how are you going to touch a player who had 1,500 scrimmage yards and averaged six yards a carry? It's Kamara by a mile. Wow, can't believe Ryan Pace didn't keep his third rounder to draft him. Amazing!

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Kamara over Hunt was close for me, but that 6.1 yards a carry is special.

Sam Householder: Hunt

Jack Silverstein: Kamara (with apologies to the Bears' Tarik Cohen)

Jeff Berckes: Kamara

Jacob Infante: Hunt

Ken Mitchell: Kamara

Andrew Link: Kamara

Patti Curl: Cohen

Defensive Rookie Of The Year: Marshon Lattimore, Saints

Wild Card Round - Carolina Panthers v New Orleans Saints Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images

Robert Zeglinski: I can't remember a more special rookie season for a defensive back than Lattimore. The NFL is blessed with transcendent young talent on the back end for some time.

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Lattimore

Sam Householder: Lattimore

Jack Silverstein: Lattimore

Jeff Berckes: Lattimore

Jacob Infante: Lattimore

Ken Mitchell: Lattimore

Andrew Link: Lattimore

Patti Curl: Eddie Jackson, Bears

Comeback Player Of The Year: Keenan Allen, Chargers

Oakland Raiders v Los Angeles Chargers Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

Robert Zeglinski: Come back from an ACL tear to be third in the league in receiving yards? Yeah, this is your award in Allen.

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Allen

Sam Householder: Rob Gronkowski, Patriots

Jack Silverstein: Gronkowski

Jeff Berckes: Allen

Jacob Infante: Allen

Ken Mitchell: Gronkowski

Andrew Link: Allen

Patti Curl: Kyle Fuller, Bears

Coach Of The Year: Sean McVay, Rams

Wild Card Round - Atlanta Falcons v Los Angeles Rams Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

Robert Zeglinski: Doug Pederson of the Eagles isn't the best coach in the NFL. But, he was the best in 2017. Why? He turned Wentz into an MVP-caliber quarterback. He took the Eagles to the top of the NFC too. Then after losing Wentz, still took them to the Super Bowl with Nick Foles: highlighted by beat down of the league's top defense in the Vikings to get there.

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Pederson, who deserves kudos for keeping his team together after losing their quarterback.

Sam Householder: Mike Zimmer, Vikings

Jack Silverstein: Bill Belichick, Patriots

Jeff Berckes: Sean McVay, Rams

Jacob Infante: McVay

Ken Mitchell: McVay

Andrew Link: McVay

Patti Curl: Bears outside linebackers coach, Brandon Staley. For the name.

Bonus: Does Brian Urlacher get into the Hall of Fame on the first ballot?


Robert Zeglinski: Urlacher deserves to, but no. I think too much politics and asinine principles involved in an archaic voting process keeps him out.

Lester Wiltfong Jr.: Urlacher has the numbers and passes the eye test. If he doesn't get in, the system is broken.

Sam Householder: No.

Jack Silverstein: Yes! You already know.

Jeff Berckes: I’ve been on this all year and nothing has changed my mind: Urlacher's absolutely going to make it in.

Jacob Infante: Yes.

Ken Mitchell: Yes!

Andrew Link: No.

Patti Curl: Yes.

WCG Contributors: Jeff Berckes; Patti Curl; Eric Christopher Duerrwaechter; Kev H; Sam Householder; Jacob Infante; Andrew Link; Ken Mitchell; Steven Schweickert; Jack Silverstein; EJ Snyder; Lester Wiltfong, Jr.; Robert Zeglinski; Like us on Facebook.