clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Long wins Ed Block Courage Award

The veteran guard was Chicago’s representative to win the Ed Block Courage Award.

NFL: Chicago Bears at Green Bay Packers
Kyle Long has been awarded one of the team’s most prestigious awards.
Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Chicago Bears guard Kyle Long was named as the team’s winner of the Ed Block Courage Award, the team announced on Friday.

The award, named after former Baltimore Colts head trained Ed Block, is awarded to one member of each of the 32 NFL teams who best personifies inspiration, sportsmanship and courage. It is given to players every March in a ceremony in Baltimore, Maryland held by the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation, which aims to bring a stop to child abuse. Recipients of the award join in a partnership with “Courage Houses”, which help care for abused, at risk or neglected children.

Long played in 10 games for the Bears in 2017, started in nine. He dealt with numerous ankle and finger injuries throughout the year before being sidelined for the remainder of the year with a shoulder injury. He underwent several surgeries early in the offseason, and is preparing to come back for the 2018 season, one which is already bringing about high expectations for the team.