clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brian Urlacher enshrined into the Pro Football Hall Of Fame

The time has finally come for the next great Chicago Bears’ player to don the iconic Gold Jacket and take his place in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Congratulations, Brian Urlacher.

2005 NFC Divisional Playoff Game - Carolina Panthers vs Chicago Bears - January 15, 2006 Photo by Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

There never a doubt in my mind that Brian Urlacher would be a first ballot inductee into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He’s one of the greatest and most versatile defensive players in the history of the league. He thrived as a middle linebacker in two very different schemes, and he likely could have thrived in other roles as well. Pound for pound, he was one of the best athletes to ever stop on to a football field.

He played the game the right way and he did so for thirteen years. His numbers speak for themselves, but what he brought to his defenses went beyond stats. He was a great teammate, a selfless leader, and the face of the franchise for more than a decade.

This is your official WCG Open Thread to discuss Urlacher’s greatness, and to share any stories or favorite games about #54.

The Hall of Fame ceremonies will get started at 6:00 p.m. (Central) from Canton, Ohio, and the event will be broadcast live on both the NFL Network and ESPN. If you’d rather stream the festivities, you can watch it on the NFL app, or the ESPN app, and also online at

Here’s the order the new Hall of Famers will be speaking tonight.

  1. Linebacker Robert Brazile
  2. Contributor Bobby Beathard
  3. Guard Jerry Kramer
  4. Linebacker Brian Urlacher
  5. Safety Brian Dawkins
  6. Wide receiver Randy Moss
  7. Linebacker Ray Lewis

Wide receiver Terrell Owens, who is also a part of the 2018 Class, will not be present so there will be no time allotted for him.

Make sure you peruse WCG as we will share some past articles about the Bears’ legendary linebacker.