clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Scales nominated for the 2019 Salute to Service Award

Chicago Bears v Washington Redskins Photo by Will Newton/Getty Images

Earlier today the NFL announced the 32 nominees for the Salute to Service Award Presented by USAA. The Salute to Service Award, which is in its ninth year, “recognizes NFL players, coaches, personnel and Legends who demonstrate an exemplary commitment to honoring and supporting the military community, as nominated by NFL clubs.”

Each team has one nominee and in January the finalists will be announced with the winner being recognized at NFL Honors, which is the two-hour prime-time awards special that airs nationally on Feb. 1, 2019, the night before the Super Bowl.

The Chicago Bears nominee for the award is long snapper Patrick Scales who has been with the team since 2015. Here’s more on Scales from the Bears and the NFL.

This past off-season Patrick visited with Navy officers and senior enlisted sailors for a leadership session onboard Recruit Training Command at the Naval Station at Great Lakes in Great Lakes, Illinois. Patrick participated in an interview Q&A style which was moderated by their Command Master Chief, David Twiford. The purpose was for the audience to learn about Patrick’s thoughts on leadership and how he achieved success in his career. The visit was as rewarding from Patrick as it was for the sailors who participated in the day.

As the Chicago Bears host military and first responder groups at Halas Hall to watch practice, Patrick is one of the first players to greet them and spend time with them. Patrick’s warm personality and sense of humor makes guests feel at home and welcomed by the team. Patrick has also committed to supporting the Bears upcoming Salute to Service programs and events such as taking veterans who are part of the Wounded Warrior program “golfing” at Top Golf, among other events leading up to numerous events that engage with the military community.

Scales is looking to become the third member of the Bears to win this award, joining Charles Tillman in 2012 and Jared Allen in 2014.