clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Khalil Mack is the Bears nominee for the 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

New York Giants v Chicago Bears Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

On Thursday the NFL announced the 32 nominees for the seventh annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes players who demonstrate “the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition,” and Khalil Mack was chosen to represent the Chicago Bears.

The Award was created in the honor of Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr., who is the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Former players Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler will be tasked with selecting eight finalists from the 32 nominees with four coming from each conference.

The NFL players will then select the winner among the finalists on December 18 when they also makes their votes for the Pro Bowl. As with Pro Bowl voting, teams can not vote for their own player.

The 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award winner will be announced at NFL Honors, with the winner receiving a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation that will go to a charity of his choice.

For the full list of nominees you can click here.