clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mitchell Trubisky wins the Good Guy Award

Chicago Bears v Minnesota Vikings Photo by Stephen Maturen/Getty Images

Quarterback Mitchell Trubisky has been named the Chicago Bears Good Guy Award winner for the 2020 season after being the runner up a year ago.

The Good Guy Award has been voted on by the Chicago chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America since 2013, and it goes to the player who is the most cooperative with the media.

Trubisky started the year as Chicago’s number one QB, but was benched towards the end of their week three game in Atlanta. He continued working and maintained his professionalism with the media, and he was reinserted into the starting line up for their week 12 game against the Packers and has started each game since.

In his eight starts this year, Mitch has completed 65.1% of his passes, for 1,803 yards, 16 touchdowns, 7 interceptions, and a 95.3 passer rating.

“Even with what has happened on the field this year, Mitch Trubisky has been a true professional off of it as well,” says the Bear Reports’ Zack Pearson, who added that Trubisky “has always fulfilled his media obligations and has been extremely professional.”

Larry Mayer, who writes for the team’s site, Tweets that Mitch “showed his character after Week 3 game in Atlanta when he volunteered to speak to media (when he didn’t have to) after getting benched in third quarter.”

Chris Emma of 670 The Score says via Twitter about Trubisky that, “He has been a pro every day of his NFL career.”

The Athletics’ Kevin Fishbain Tweeted that he has “always appreciated how Trubisky has handled the media. The fact that he volunteered to do a post-game Zoom after getting benched in Week 3 was worthy of the award in itself.”

Last year’s winner of the award was Allen Robinson II, and he was the runner up this season.

Other past winners of the Bears Good Guy Award have been cornerback Prince Amukamara (2018), tight end Zach Miller (2017), corner Tracy Porter (2016), offensive lineman Matt Slauson (2015), safety Ryan Mundy (2014), and quarterback Josh McCown (2013).