clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Updated October 1: Chicago Bears 2022 Practice Squad

Here is the 16-man practice squad of the Bears, plus the 2022 rules for the NFL’s practice squad.

Las Vegas Raiders v Indianapolis Colts Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images

The Chicago Bears signed kicker

Much like their 53-man active roster, their 16-man practice squad will undergo several changes throughout the season, so we'll update this list accordingly.

2022 Chicago Bears Practice Squad

  1. Isaiah Coulter, WR
  2. Nsimba Webster, WR
  3. Reggie Roberson Jr., WR
  4. Chase Allen, TE
  5. Darrynton Evans, RB
  6. Michael Niese, OL
  7. Kellen Diesch, OL
  8. Dieter Eiselen, OL
  9. Zachary Thomas, OL
  10. Nathan Peterman, QB
  11. Mike Badgley, K
  12. Trevon Coley, DT
  13. DeMarquis Gates, LB
  14. Harrison Hand, DB
  15. A.J. Thomas, S
  16. Davontae Harris, S

DL Andre Anthony was placed on practice squad injured list on October 1.

Practice Squad Rules

  • Each week teams can elevate two players to the gameday roster, and this can happen with a player three times before he needs to be signed to their active roster.
  • Practice squad players are free agents and able to sign with any other team's active roster, i.e., current clubs can not block a move to another 53-man roster. They can offer their practice squad player an active roster contract to stay.
  • If a player signs with another team's active roster he must stay there for at least three weeks.
  • A practice squadder can not leave one practice squad for another.
  • A practice squad player may not sign a contract with his team's next opponent after 3 p.m. (CT) six days prior to the game or 10 days prior in bye weeks.
  • Teams can promote an additional practice squadder 90 minutes before kickoff if the team is replacing a player with a positive COVID-19 test result.

Practice squad eligibility

  • Players with zero accrued seasons of NFL experience (rookies).
  • Any number of players who have not accrued at least nine games in an NFL season.
  • Up to four players who have accrued no more than two NFL seasons.
  • Up to six players with no limitations on experience (vested veterans).